Home > About > ECUST

East China University of Science and Technology


Features & Facts 

East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST) is located in the southwest of Shanghai, a center of commerce, finance, trade and shipping of China. 
Founded in 1952 and previously named as East China Institute of Chemical Technology, ECUST is 


· the first national key university featuring chemical engineering disciplines in China

· State-run and full-time institutions of higher education

· Research-oriented national key university directly under the Ministry of Education of China

· One of the 13 Chinese key engineering universities 

· One of the National "211 Project" key construction universities

· National “985 Project” Advantages Discipline Innovation Platform for high-level  universities 


ECUST devotes itself to develop international cooperation and has established long-term and extensive academic exchanges and joint training cooperation with more than 180 universities, colleges, enterprises and research institutions from all over the world, including the United States, Germany, Britain, France, Japan, Canada, South Korea, Australia, etc.


15  Academic School


67  Bachelor’s Program

147 Master’s Program

81   Doctoral Program


12  Postdoctoral Research Center

7    National Key Discipline

1   National Key Discipline (Nurturing)

10  Shanghai Key Discipline

7    Shanghai First-class Discipline   


8  National Research Base

2  International Collaborative Research Base

 One of the first 6 universities in China that establish National Technology Transfer Center

24500+ Full-time Student

15300+  Undergraduate

8700+  Postgraduate ( including Ph.D candidates 1500+)


3100+ Faculty

5  Academician

16 Cheung Kong Distinguished Professor

17  Winner of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars 

7  National “973” Project Chief Scientist


About brief introduction of ECUST, please refer to ECUST website



All Rights Reserved by College of International Education of East China University of Science and Technology